Review: Each of Us a Desert by Mark Oshiro

Each of Us a Desert

Synopsis:

From the award-winning author Mark Oshiro comes a powerful fantasy novel about finding home and falling in love amidst the dangers of a desert where stories come to life.

Xochital is destined to wander the desert alone, speaking her troubled village’s stories into its arid winds. Her only companions are the blessed stars above and enimagic lines of poetry magically strewn across dusty dunes.

Her one desire: to share her heart with a kindred spirit.

One night, Xo’s wish is granted—in the form of Emilia, the cold and beautiful daughter of the town’s murderous mayor. But when the two set out on a magical journey across the desert, they find their hearts could be a match… if only they can survive the nightmare-like terrors that arise when the sun goes down.

Fresh off of Anger Is a Gift’s smashing success, Oshiro branches out into a fantastical direction with their new YA novel, The Stars Around Us.

(Cover Photo & Synopsis from Goodreads)

Review: 5/5

This book was beautifully written, words cannot explain just how well written and thought out this book was. The it is very well planned out and a thinker, there were several times I had to put the book down because it made me think of something I would have never realized before. It’s definitely one you need to take your time with. You can’t just zoom through it. It gives you a lot to think about and honestly, most of it is a little saddening. But it’s done in such a way that it’s more sobering. The imagery that was created in this world was also breathtaking. When I was reading this we were going through a heatwave and sometimes I felt like I was in a desert! Ha, but really even the desert scenes and survival skills seemed well researched.

This isn’t your traditional fantasy novel. It’s not very story arc driven, more so character driven. Xochital struggles with being the one, and carrying the burden of a cuentista. The magic and lore that was created for the cuentista is amazing. I love the that there’s this sort of dark side to the magic. About why she has to take the stories and how she gives the stories back to Solis. The book is also sort of heartbreaking in a way too. Like after everything that Xochital went through she still had two impossible choices.

If you’re not a native Spanish speaker, then some research is required. They may be some words or phrases that aren’t familiar or common. I appreciated this, as a Mexican-American who doesn’t speak Spanish, and understands so few of my language it was still nice for it to be there. And not just in passing. Like the poetry is written in Spanish (which yes there is an English translation), and it just makes this book even better.

I wish my review could do it justice. As I said this book was beautifully written and it was so well thought out. Someone out this is going to love this book with all their being, but I can’t. There was just something missing for me, I wanted more of … something. Or less of another. It felt like there was this underlying religious message. Which maybe that’s what it was that was throwing me off. Again the book was so good and I can’t take away a star even though I didn’t love it. It deserves 5 starts because it was written so well. But it just wasn’t for me. But that shouldn’t stop you, because even if the book’s not for you it’s still worth the read! It really is! I don’t regret this book, or taking the time to understand it.

This book has Latinx representation, LGBT+ characters, and passes the bechdel test.

Buy a copy! Indiebound| Amazon |Barnes&Noble

1 thought on “Review: Each of Us a Desert by Mark Oshiro”

Leave a comment